I’m all a-Twitter

I recently had the chance to cover my first public event live on Twitter. Eric Schlosser, author of Fast Food Nation, came to Ohio University to speak about his research and to promote his views on the fast food industry.

I was eager to hear what he had to say, as recently I have been reading The Omnivore’s Dilemma, a book by Michael Pollan that deals with a lot of the same issues presented in Schlosser’s book. I was joined by many of my classmates under the hash tag #OHJ314 – check it out for some great quotes, observations and other miscellaneous chatter.

I was happy with my experience. The only thing I didn’t enjoy was that while furiously trying to tweet a quote, I would miss what Schlosser was saying – I’m not the best multi-tasker.

Live twitter coverage is great, but I think it is more appropriate for say, a multi-day convention where many events are taking place in the same area. That way, not only would the coverage benefit those not present at the convention, but would also be able to alert other convention goers of interesting booths or events they might otherwise miss. Let’s leave nice live streaming video and running transcripts for the speeches and presentations.

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

